About The Framework
The Framework

The framework examines courses through the lens of three domains:

  • The Institutional Domain
  • The Technological Domain
  • The Pedagogical Domain

For each domain there is a set of forty-five criteria divided into sub-categories of the main domain. The current version of the framework (jointly developed by the members of Aqueduto) has the following distribution:


The Institutional Domain

  • Institutional Strategy (7 criteria)
  • Staff Training, Development and Performance Management (4)
  • Supporting the Learner Experience (16)

The Pedagogical Domain

  • Course Design (8)
  • Tutor Competencies (6)

The Technological Domain

  • Platform (4)


As you will see, the balance in the framework is (logically) very much in favour of people and pedagogy, whilst recognising that without other aspects of institutional and technological support and infrastructure, a course may never be truly successful in its aims. Access to the full current version of the framework is here.

Should you wish to pursue membership of Aqueduto,  you can use the current version of the framework to benchmark your courses prior to a full membership application. In order to start this process, please use the Pre-Application Form here…

To see how the framework is used, please take a look at membership process.